Words from the Past


The Bermuda Gazette, issue 1 published on Saturday, 17 January 1784 on the island of Bermuda.

I love researching the past and when I start, I usually lose all track of time. Last night  I found myself  researching the Bermuda National Library online records. They have copies of the Bermuda Royal Gazette online that date from the very first issue of January 17, 1784… complete with the “s” that looks like a funky “f”! How cool is it to read a 227 year old newspaper that is still being printed today?! Do you think they had any clue that when they started their publication, just 8 short years after American won its independence from the British, that they would still be in business in 2011?? Now that’s a healthy business plan!

Well, when I’m researching, I tend to forget about all else and that’s usually how I end up staying up until the wee hours of the morning… last night, or rather this morning, I didn’t turn off my computer until after 3 am.  But in my defense,  I was finding some really interesting tidbits.

Bermuda Gazette, Mar. 17, 1787

I came across this story in the 166 issue, published on Saturday, March 17, 1787. I only wish there was more information given so I could research that family and to see what happened to them.

“A letter from Tortola, dated October 25 contains the following extraordinary account: The wife of one Agramune, a mendicant (one who begs or lives a vow of poverty), having heard that one of her children had been taken up with a gang of vagabonds (and we thought the youth of today were different!) and carried to prison was so shocked at the report, that she was, before her time, taken in labour, and delivered of five children at one birth, viz. four girls and one boy. It is remarkable, that the above woman, who is of a vigorous constitution, has had fourteen children at four different lyings-inn, namely, two at the first, three as the second, at the third four, and at this last five before her time.”

17 Mar 1787, page 3

I think you have to agree, what a remarkable story! I would really love to learn if the children survived to adulthood, but I am unable to located the name given.

If you ever have the opportunity to read words from the past, don’t pass it up. You will find that the trials, tribulations and heartwarming stories from the past aren’t really any different from today.

You can read today’s issue of the Bermuda Royal Gazette online at http://www.royalgazette.com/

Leave a Reply

Eastman's Online Genealogy Newsletter

The Daily Online Genealogy Newsletter

familyheirlooms

The discovery of family, past and present

Reclaiming Kin

Taking Back What Was Once Lost

The Unsilent Majority

My Voice. My Thoughts. My Blog

A Literary Artist's Music

Passion, Inspiration, & Adventure

daylicious

food, glorious food.

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

